Revisiting A Couple Of Masters Talking Points…

Naughty WordsThe poll on the front page right now asks if Zach Johnson won the Masters or if Tiger Woods lost it, and I’m disappointed in 36% of you. That’s the percentage who believe that Tiger lost it, and I’m sorry, but did I miss the portion of the tournament where Tiger blew a massive lead?

It seems a little unfair to Zach Johnson. The man shot a 69 on Sunday at The Masters, and if that doesn’t constitute earning a win, then I don’t know what does. He was better than Tiger. They both played golf; Johnson played it better. What more can he do? No one blew the tournament, no one handed it to him… Zach Johnson won because he was better. What other standard is there?

The other topic out there is Stuart Appleby’s use of a certain 4-letter word that rhymes with truck. Appleby yanked a shot on the eighth hole and his naughty utterance was broadcast over the air. You can hear it here (I guess I don’t have to tell you there’s some profanity found by clicking that link).

I understand the issue of wanting to protect the sensitive ears of children, but this was barely audible. If a 7-second delay was in place and didn’t pick this up, it’s probably because they didn’t hear it. I don’t remember hearing it. Obviously, some did, though.

I don’t know if I’m supposed to be upset about this, but I’m probably not the best judge. I don’t have kids that would’ve been exposed to this, and if I did, they’d have already heard daddy say the same word 6 or 7 times this morning. Golf lends itself to profanity. If you don’t know this, obviously, you are not a golfer.

Leave a Reply

